Library of Congress

Digital Preservation

The Library of Congress > Digital Preservation > NDSA > Working Groups > Innovation > Innovation Awards Nomination Form

NDSA logoThe Annual Innovation Awards were established by the National Digital Stewardship Alliance (NDSA) to recognize and encourage innovation in the field of digital preservation stewardship. These awards highlight and commend creative individuals, projects, organizations, and future stewards demonstrating originality and excellence in their contributions to the field of digital preservation. The program is administered by a committee drawn from members of the NDSA Innovation Working Group.

Read our blog posts about the 2012 and 2013 award recipients.


These awards will focus on recognizing excellence in one or more of the following areas:

  • Individuals making a significant, innovative contribution to the digital preservation community.
  • Projects whose goals or outcomes represent an inventive, meaningful addition to the understanding or processes required for successful, sustainable digital preservation stewardship.
  • Organizations taking an innovative approach to providing support and guidance to the digital preservation community.
  • Future stewards, especially students, but including educators, trainers, or curricular endeavors taking a creative approach to advancing knowledge of digital preservation issues and practices.

    Award Category

    In which award category does the nominee best fit?

    Future Steward


    Please provide a brief, one-paragraph description of the individual, project, organization, or future steward being nominated and their role in digital preservation stewardship. Also please include any relevant URLs or links to publications, documentation, or other evidence of their activities.


    Please provide a brief, one-paragraph justification explaining why the nominee merits recognition and how they contributed to innovation in digital preservation stewardship.

    Nominee Contact Information



    Related URL (if available)


  • Nominations are open to any individual and anyone can be nominated for one of the four awards. Simply put, anyone can nominate anyone and anything. There are no restrictions on affiliation of individuals, time frame of projects or activities, organization type, or student, educator, or program status.

  • Prize and Sponsor

  • The prize will be a plaque presented to the winners at the Digital Preservation 2014 meeting taking place at the Library of Congress in Washington D.C. on July 22-24, 2014. Travel costs will be covered for recipients to attend the meeting. Winners will be asked to deliver a brief presentation about their activities as part of the awards ceremony.
  • The Annual Innovation Awards are sponsored by the National Digital Stewardship Alliance, a member organization committed to managing digital content for current and long-term use. The National Digital Stewardship Alliance was launched in July 2010 as an initiative of the National Digital Information Infrastructure and Preservation Program at the Library of Congress.